Letters from the future No 1.

Read 2030. Letter to a Son

by Robert Minhinnick

Poet, essayist, editor. Robert was born in Neath in 1952. His first collection of poems was published in 1978. Robert won an Eric Gregory Award in 1983; and Cholmondeley Prize in 1998. He was editor ofPoetry Wales quarterly magazine from 1997 - 2008. Robert also edited Green Agenda: Essays on the Environment of Wales (Seren, 1994). His bookWatching the Fire Eater (Seren, 1992) won the 1993 Wales Book of the Year, and To Babel and Back(Seren, 2005) won the 2006 Wales Book of the Year award.

Robert’s title Sea Holly (Seren, 2007) was shortlisted for the Royal Society of Literature Ondaatje Prize, worth £10,000. This award marks a distinguished work of fiction, non-fiction or poetry which evokes the spirit of a place. King Driftwood (Carcanet, 2008) was on the 2009 Wales Book of the Year Long List.

2012 Interview with Robert in conversation with Kristian Evans. http://www.literaturewales.org/writers-of-wales/i/129748/desc/minhinnick-robert/ )


Letters from the future No 2.

Read 2050. Letter to a Daughter.

by Steven Robert Harris

Steven Robert Harris BSc, PhD, was a Research Fellow at the Schumacher Institute for Sustainable Systems, Bristol, UK, where he investigated the social, technical and economic challenges of climate change and the transition to post- carbon living 


Letters from the future No 3.

Read Report to Alpha Centauri

by John Barnie

Poet and essayist. John was born in Abergavenny, Gwent and lived in Denmark from 1969-1982. He was editor of Planet, The Welsh Internationalist from 1990-2006. John has published several collections of poems, mixed poems and fiction, and collections of essays, one of which, The King of Ashes, won a Welsh Arts Council Prize for Literature in 1990.

John also plays guitar in the bilingual blues and poetry group Llaeth Mwnci Madoc/Madoc’s Moonshine, with Nigel Jenkins (harmonica) and Iwan Llwyd (guitar). They perform an integrated programme of blues and poetry. In 1999-2000 the trio toured extensively in Wales and are available for bookings across the country.
Trouble in Heaven (Gomer, 2007) was on the Wales Book of the Year 2008 Long List. John was on the English language panel of judges for the 2009 Wales Book of the Year award. He is a Fellow of the Welsh Academy.

(Excerpt from http://www.literaturewales.org/writers-of-wales/i/129531/desc/barnie-john/ )


Letters from the future No 4.

Read Letter from 2084

by Mike Jenkins

Mike Jenkins won Wales Book of the Year in 1998 for his collection of interlinked short storiesWanting to Belong. He has also won an Eric Gregory Award from the Society of Authors, The Young Writers Prize from the Welsh Arts Council for Empire of Smoke and the John Tripp Award for Spoken Poetry. 

Mike is at the forefront of contemporary Welsh writing and is a fellow of the Academi, the Welsh Society for Authors. He is a former editor of Poetry Wales magazine and has co-edited Red Poets for 15 years, an annual magazine of left-wing poetry from Wales and beyond. 

Poetry forms the bulk of Mike’s published work, though he has recently written two novellas, one for children entitled Barbsmashive and another, The Fugitive Three, which is for adults. His latest book of poetry is published by Carreg Gwalch and is called Walking on Waste

Mike’s next big project is Moor Music, a book consisting entirely of open field poems to be published by Seren. 



Letters from the future No 5.

Read Letter from Braidwood, New South Wales to a nephew in Wales. 2040

by Harry Laing

Harry Laing is a poet, comic performer and creative writing teacher. “I have a passion for poetry, comic performance and for teaching. As a poet I’ve had two books published Thirst (1993) and Backbone (2010). I’ve written and performed 6 solo shows and toured the most recent of them, Away with the birds for STARTS (Southern Tablelands Arts). I’ve also written for radio. My two series of quirky country tales Stories from the edge of the forest and Tales of a Tree Changer were broadcast on ABC Radio National’s Bush Telegraph in 2005/2006.”

Visit Harry Laing’s website.


Letters from the future No 6.

Read Letter from Mumbai: undated

by Sampurna Chattarji

Sampurna Chattarji is a poet, novelist and translator. Her nine published books include three poetry collections—Absent Muses, The Fried Frog and Sight May Strike You Blind; and two novels—Rupture and Land of the Well. Her translation of Abol Tabol: The Nonsense World of Sukumar Ray is now a Puffin Classic titled Wordygurdyboom! Her poetry has been translated into German, Swiss-German, Irish, Scots, Welsh, French, Tamil, Manipuri and Bambaiyya; and her children’s fiction into Welsh and Icelandic.

Sampurna is the editor of Sweeping the Front Yard, an anthology of women’s writing in English, Malayalam, Telugu and Urdu. She was the 2012 Charles Wallace writer-in-residence at the University of Kent, Canterbury.

More about Sampurna's writing can be found at sampurnachattarji.wordpress.com.